Tribal Transportation Self-Governance Program (TTSGP)


April 25, 2016

Tribal Transportation Self-Governance Program

On April 25, 2016, the FHWA is announced its intent to establish a negotiated rulemaking committee to develop a proposed rule to carry the Tribal Transportation Self-Governance Program (TTSGP) as required by Section 1121 of the Fixing America's Surface Transportation (FAST) Act. The FHWA will select the tribal representatives for the committee from among elected officials of tribal governments (or their designated employees with authority to act on their behalf), acting in their official capacities and whose tribes have existing Title 23 U.S.C. funding agreements with the Department. To the maximum extent possible, FHWA will consider geographical location, size, and existing transportation and self-governance experience, in selecting tribal committee representatives. Per the FAST Act, the committee will assist in the development of a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking that contains the proposed regulations needed to implement the TTSGP.

Read More


July 27, 2016

Tribal Transportation Self-Governance Program; Negotiated Rulemaking Proposed Committee Membership and First Meeting

July 27, 2016 - As required by the Negotiated Rulemaking Act, the Secretary of Transportation has selected the proposed members of a committee to develop proposed rules for the Tribal Transportation Self-Governance Program (TTSGP). Tribes in each of the 12 Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) Regions, as well as national and regional tribal organizations were invited to nominate a primary and alternate representative to serve on the committee. After considering the nominations received, the Secretary proposes to appoint the persons named in this document as committee members. Tribes, tribal organizations, and individual tribal members who believe that their interests will not be adequately represented by the persons identified in this document may submit comments on the proposed selection, apply for membership on the committee, or submit other nominations. Additionally, the Agency announces that the first meeting of the TTSGP committee will be held August 16-18, 2016. The meeting is open to the public..

Read More


August 16-18, 2016

TTSGP Committee Meeting - 1st Meeting

First meeting of the TTSGP committee will be held August 16-18, 2016. The meeting is open to the public.

Read More
Draft of TTSGP Neg Reg Committee Protocols 8-17-16
Click for Draft Protocols


September 13-15, 2016

TTSGP Committee Meeting - 2nd Meeting

Second meeting of the TTSGP committee will be held September 13-15, 2016, from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. at the Eastern Federal Lands Highway Division, Loudoun Tech Center, 21400 Ridgetop Circle, Sterling, VA 20166-6511.

Read More
Primary Tribal Representatives

ALASKA REGION—Denise Michaels, Director of Transportation, Kawerak, Inc., Nome, AK.

EASTERN REGION—Wesley Woodruff, Facilities Division Director, Poarch Band of Creek Indians, Atmore, AL.

EASTERN OKLAHOMA REGION—Palmer S. Mosely V, Executive Officer of Self-Determination, The Chickasaw Nation, Ada, OK.

GREAT PLAINS REGION—Ron His Horse is Thunder, Transportation Director, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Ft. Yates, SD.

MIDWEST REGION—David Conner, Self-Governance Coordinator, Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians, Red Lake, MN.

NAVAJO REGION—Darryl Bradley, Principal Civil Engineer, Navajo Nation, Window Rock, AZ.

NORTHWEST REGION—Timothy Ballew II, Tribal Chairman, Lummi Nation, Bellingham, WA.

PACIFIC REGION—Michael Hostler, Transportation Director, Hoopa Valley Tribe, Hoopa, CA.

ROCKY MOUNTAIN REGION—John Smith, Transportation Director, Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho Tribes' Joint Business Council on the Wind River Indian Reservation, Arapahoe, WY.

SOUTHERN PLAINS REGION—Beverly Edwina Butler Wolfe, Governor, Absentee Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma, Shawnee, OK.

SOUTHWEST REGION—Joe Garcia, Head Councilman, Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo, Ohkay Owingeh, NM.

WESTERN REGION—Jennifer Lynn Jack, Roads Manager, Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community, Scottsdale, AZ.

Federal Representatives

Robert Sparrow, Designated Federal Official, FHWA, Washington, DC.Show

Vivian Philbin, Assistant Chief Counsel, FHWA, Lakewood, CO.

Basharat Siddiqi, Division Administrator, FHWA, Oklahoma City, OK.

Kenneth Martin, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Tribal Government Affairs, Office of the Secretary, USDOT, Washington, DC.

Elan Flippin, Tribal Transit Program Manager, FTA, Washington, DC.

(TBD), USDOT, Washington, DC.

LeRoy Gishi, Chief, BIA Division of Transportation, Washington, DC.

Other Tribal Representatives

Mickey Peercy, Executive Director of Self-Governance, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Tishomingo, OK, proposed by the DOI Self-Governance Workgroup.

Jody Clark, Director—Seneca Nation DOT, Seneca Nation, Salamanca, NY, proposed by United Southern and Eastern Tribes (USET). Will also act as the Alternate representative for the Eastern Region, if required.

Gerald Hope, Transportation Director, Sitka Tribe of Alaska, Sitka, AK. Will also act as the Alternate representative for the Alaska Region, if required.

Karen Woodard, Administrator—Realty, Planning, Construction Services and Facilities, Morongo Band of Mission Indians, Banning, CA. Will also act as the Alternate representative for the Pacific Region, if required.

Elizabeth Kay Wallace Rhoads, Principal Chief—Sac and Fox Nation, Meeker, OK. Will also act as the Alternate representative for the Southern Plains Region, if required.

Royce Gchachu, Transportation Director, Zuni Pueblo, Zuni, NM. Will also act as the Alternate representative for the Southwest Region, if required.

Alternate Tribal Representatives

EASTERN OKLAHOMA REGION—Lindsay Earls, Legislative Counsel for Government Relations, The Cherokee Nation, Tahlequah, OK.

GREAT PLAINS REGION—David Kelly, Transportation Director, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Pine Ridge, SD.

NAVAJO REGION—Jonah Begay, GIS Supervisor, Navajo Nation, Window Rock, AZ.

NORTHWEST REGION—Mary Beth Frank-Clark, Transportation Planner, Nez Pierce Tribe, Lewiston, ID.

WESTERN REGION—Octavio Machado, Transit Manager, Ak-Chin Indian Community, Maricopa, AZ.